US AMOC Science Team

The US AMOC Science Team is comprised of US investigators performing relevant research on AMOC as funded and designated by the four sponsoring agencies: NASA, NOAA, NSF, and DOE. The Science Team bears the responsibility of achieving the program objectives established in the 2007 program implementation plan. The Science Team meets annually and produces a year-end report to facilitate the dissemination of recent research results, identify gaps in measuring, understanding, and modeling of the AMOC and its impacts, and aid the coordination of efforts across agency-sponsored projects.

Task Teams are established to define near-term research priorities and enable collaborative activities to achieve each of the four US AMOC objectives. Science Team members are asked to serve on at least one of following Task Teams, based on relevance to their funded research.

Task Team 1: AMOC Observing System Implementation and Evaluation

Task Team 2: AMOC State, Variability, and Change

Task Team 3: AMOC Mechanisms and Predictability

Task Team 4: Climate Sensitivity to AMOC: Climate/Ecosystem Impacts

Membership on the US AMOC Science Team is open to funded US scientists working on AMOC-relevant research. Each fall, agency funding managers identify relevant funded projects and invite investigators from newly awarded projects to join the Science Team and relevant Task Team(s). Members are expected to participate in the annual AMOC science meetings (US or international) and contribute annual project progress reports to inform the annual Science Team Report. Membership continues for up to one year after the project funding ends, unless an individual wishes to rotate off earlier. 


US AMOC Science Team Members
Gokhan Danabasoglu, chair National Center for Atmospheric Research
Magdalena Andres Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Molly Baringer NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
Nick Bates Bermuda Institute of Ocean Sciences
Lisa Beal University of Miami
Amy Bower Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Annalisa Bracco Georgia Institute of Technology
Grant Branstator National Center for Atmospheric Research
James Carton University of Maryland
Paola Cessi UCSD/Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Ping Chang Texas A&M University
Wei Cheng NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Lab
Alan Condron University of Massachusetts
Timothy DelSole George Mason University
Tom Delworth NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
William Dewar Florida State University
Shenfu Dong University of Miami/NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
Kathleen Donohue University of Rhode Island
Charles Eriksen University of Washington
Alexey Fedorov Yale University
M. Femke de Jong Duke University
Gustavo Goni NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
Ben Harden Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Patrick Heimbach University of Texas at Austin
Chris Hill Massachusetts Institute of Technology
James Holte Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Aixue Hu National Center for Atmospheric Research
Taka Ito  Georgia Institute of Technology
Quentin Jamet Florida State University
Bill Johns University of Miami
Terry Joyce Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Kathryn Kelly University of Washington
Jong Kim Argonne National Lab
Who Kim National Center for Atmospheric Research
Yochanan Kushnir Columbia University/Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
Young-Oh Kwon Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Felix Landerer Caltech/NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Matthias Lankhorst Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Isabel LeBras Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Craig Lee University of Washington
Sang Ki Lee NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Lab
Tong Lee Caltech/NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Chris Little AER 
Wei Liu University of California, Riverside
W. Timothy Liu Caltech/NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Zhengyu Liu University of Wisconsin
Susan Lozier Duke University
Chris Meinen NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
Vikram Mehta Center for Research on the Changing Earth System
Peter Minnett University of Miami
Rym Msadek NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

Cécile Penland

NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory
Renellys Perez NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
Robert Pickart Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Rui Ponte Atmospheric and Environmental Research
Peter Rhines University of Washington
Irina Rypina Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Anastasia Romanou Columbia University/NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies
Tony Rosati NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Thomas Rossby University of Rhode Island
Claudia Schmid NOAA Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
Andreas Schmittner Oregon State University
Uwe Send UCSD/Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Bill Smethie Columbia University
Michael Spall Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Fiamma Straneo Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Zoltan Szuts University of Washington
Fillipos Tagklis Georgia Institute of Technology
Luanne Thompson University of Washington
Mingfang Ting Columbia University
John Toole Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Anastasios Tsonis University of Wisconsin
Eli Tziperman Harvard University
Wilbert Weijer Los Alamos National Lab
Nico Wienders Florida State University
Carl Wunsch Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Xiaobiao Xu Florida State University
Xiao-Hai Yan University of Delaware
Steve Yeager National Center for Atmospheric Research
Jianjun Yin University of Arizona
Jiaxu Zhang Los Alamos National Laboratory
Rong Zhang NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory