Skip to main content

2014 US AMOC Science Team Meeting

2014 US AMOC Science Team Meeting
September 9-11, 2014
Hotel Deca
Seattle, Washington

The US AMOC Program, now in its seventh year, has been developed as a US interagency program to increase understanding of the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation (AMOC). The program goals include bringing together researchers studying AMOC and building collaborations among modeling and observational communities to address problems related to AMOC variability, predictability, and climate impacts.

The program currently includes over 60 funded projects. As reflected in the Task Team structure, the US AMOC program has four specific objectives:

i) implementation and evaluation of the AMOC observing system;

ii) an assessment of AMOC state, variability, and change;

iii) an assessment of AMOC variability mechanisms and predictability;

v) an assessment of the role of AMOC in global climate and ecosystems.

Following these objectives, the meeting of the Science Team is intended to provide an opportunity to:

  • facilitate dissemination of recent research results;
  • to identify gaps in our understanding and measurement of AMOC;
  • aid in coordination of efforts or in starting new collaborations among the Science Team members;
  • discuss the program’s emerging near-term priorities as well as its long-term goals.

A special session of the meeting highlighted research and focused discussion on AMOC linkages with climate variability and change.

The meeting was open to US and international scientists, including members of the US AMOC Science Team, their collaborators, and any scientists interested in engaging and learning about the science of AMOC and the US program. The meeting was structured around talks and posters devoted to recent results by the program PIs and breakout and plenary sessions dedicated to discussions that include program’s future efforts.

Organizing Committee:

LuAnne Thompson (University of Washington; Chair and local host) 
Gokhan Danabasoglu (NCAR)
Yochanan Kushnir (LDEO)
Chris Meinen (NOAA/AOML)
Weijer Wilbert (LANL)
Steve Yeager (NCAR)
Mike Patterson (US CLIVAR)
Jill Reisdorf (UCAR/JOSS)
Kristan Uhlenbrock (US CLIVAR)